Buckley Program Welcomes New Student Leadership

We are pleased to announce that this year Alexis Gurganious ’18 and Noah Daponte-Smith ’18 will serve as the Buckley Program’s student president and vice president, respectively.

Alexis and Noah noted: “We are very excited to assume these leadership roles within the Buckley Program. On the heels of the Program’s rapid growth over the past years, we are thrilled to represent over 225 student fellows in the community. We look forward to continuing to host the great events that have come to define the Buckley Program as a space where intellectual diversity thrives on Yale’s campus, and we are honored to lead the Program into what will be a vital year for these principles on college campuses across the nation.”

Alexis Gurganious is a junior in Silliman College majoring in Political Science. She has lived all over the Southeast, including Tennessee, Alabama, and Florida. After serving as the Events Director during her freshman year, Alexis served as the Speakers Director of the Buckley Program until becoming President. In her summers, Alexis has interned on Capitol Hill, with Allegiance Strategies, and with the Hoover Institution in Washington, DC. In addition to the Buckley Program, Alexis participates in the AEI Executive Council, the Yale Political Union, and her sorority. In her spare time, Alexis enjoys watching sports, spending time with family and friends, and keeping up-to-date on the latest political headlines.

Noah Daponte-Smith is a junior from Stratford, Connecticut double-majoring in History and Political Science. Over the past two summers, he’s had the pleasure of interning for National Review and Forbes Opinion through the Buckley Program. Outside of the Buckley Program, he works as a research assistant for political science professors in Yale’s MacMillan Center, writes the occasional op-ed for the Yale Daily News, and somewhat obsessively follows English soccer.

We are delighted to have their leadership in our student fellows program. We also wish to express our gratitude to Josh Altman ’17, Kyle Tierney ’17, and the rest of the 2016 student board for their good work this past year.